Tag Archive: SoCal Journalists

LA Press Club honors the best SoCal Journalist at red carpet awards event

LA PRESS CLUB AWARDS on the Red Carpet

(L-R) NBC Anchor Robert Kovacik, Willow Bay, USC Anneberg School of Journalism and Cheryl Calvin.

LA PRESS CLUB AWARDS (this story appeared 1st on EXAMINER.com

Today we see greater diversity in the newsroom and in the ways we provide information. ThePress Club has been striving to embrace Internet journalists and bloggers–clearly the wave of the future. The Southern California Journalism Awards, now celebrating 56 years of recognizing high-caliber journalism, continues to call attention to the Los Angeles area’s fine journalists while promoting excellence in new and emerging media.

LA press received a record amount of newspaper, magazine, TV and radio entries at the club‘s 57th Southern California Journalism Awards at the star-studded red carpet event held at the Millenium Biltmore Hotel in downtown LA, Sunday, June 28th.“We had more than a thousand journalist entries this year, which is a new record and all that competition makes it more special,” said Robert Kovacik, president, LA Press Club. “Many of these journalists were schooled by Willow Bay, director of the USC Annenberg School of Journalism, who received the Joseph M. Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement.

LA Press Club mixer with Robert Kovcik

LA Press Club President Robert Kovaci at the mixer prior to the dinner and awards program.


 photos by Antonella Carla

The most prestigious award was presented by philanthropist and USC Trustee Wallis Annenberg. Bay, now entering her second year as School of Journalism director, is a veteran television journalist as well as a digital news editor and author. She was the first woman to co-anchor CNN’s financial news program “Moneyline News Hour,” and has anchored or co-anchored numerous shows on CNN, NBC, MSNBC and ABC. She helped guide the early expansion of The Huffington Post, where she still serves as Senior Strategic Adviser, and she works as a special correspondent for Bloomberg TV.

LA Press Club Awards

On the red carpet at the LA Press Club’s 57th Annual Awards event in Downtown LA at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel.

“She has inspired her colleagues as an anchor and correspondent with engaging, intelligent and insightful reporting. Now she is inspiring future generations at the USC Annenberg School of Journalism. And how lucky we are to have her right here in our own backyard,” said Kovacik. Bay is also an author, as well as a highly sought-after moderator at key forums for thought leaders and has led panels with prominent politicians, philanthropists, athletes, cultural figures and CEOs such as Jeff Bezos (Amazon.com), Indra Nooyi (PepsiCo), Howard Schultz (Starbucks) and Larry Page (Google). At The Huffington Post, she interviewed Warren Buffet, Sheryl Sandberg and the Dalai Lama for the site’s first global live-streaming event.

“The LA Press Club is such a vital part of this city’s journalism ecosystem,” Bay said. “I am deeply honored to receive the Quinn Award and join the list of remarkable past winners.”TheQuinn Award was established in 1979 in the name of the late Joseph M. Quinn, a former Press Club president, and war correspondent who built City News Service and founded the club‘s awards program in 1957. The award has been presented to local and national journalists, including Walter Cronkite, Otis Chandler, Ted Koppel, Tom Brokaw, Ann Curry, Judy Woodruff, Warren Olney and Patt Morrison.

Also at the Press Club‘s Awards gala, USC Annenberg students competed with professional journalists in a roster of categories. Students at Neon TommyAnnenberg Radio News, Annenberg TV News, and Intersections South L.A. had a total of 55 nominations, also a new record. For a list of the winners visit the LA Press Club‘s website: lapressclub.org/.